How to Enter

Best of 55+ Housing Awards
2019 Call for Entries

The NAHB 55+ Housing Industry Council Best of 55+ Housing Awards are the 55+ sector's only national awards program that honor the people, companies, projects and programs that have contributed to innovative marketing, industry-leading design and construction and community lifestyle features that appeal to all life stages. 

How to Enter

Applications must be submitted online. Thoroughly read and follow instructions carefully.

Important Dates

Application Date:

  • General applications accepted beginning May 14, 2018
Submissions Due: 
  • Aug. 24, 2018 Extended to Sept. 7.

Finalists Announced: Late Oct. 2018

  • A complete list of finalists may be viewed on at this link.
Award Winners Ceremony:
  • Award winners are announced and presented at the International Builders' Show on Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2019. Tickets to the event may be purchased beginning Sept. 1.

Award Categories

The Best of 55+ Housing Awards categories are grouped under three (3) primary groups:

55+ One to Watch of the Year award is part of the NAHB Young Professionals awards program. The 55+ Housing Industry Council will administer the application process through judging. 

  • Must be under 40 years of age (born AFTER December 31, 1978)
  • Cannot be a nominee for the 55+ Builder of the Year or 55+ Associate of the Year
  • 55+ council involvement

55+ Community of the Year

Gold winners for the community categories in 55+ Architectural Design are automatically entered for the top prestigious award 55+ Community of the Year, providing the 55+ community meets the criteria.

Applicants may review the categories and descriptions and apply for any category for which they meet the criteria. Applicants should review the eligibility and general entry requirements before applying.


Projects must be completed in the 18 months prior to the application deadline of Aug. 14, 2018. On the Boards projects must have been designed on or after Jan. 1, 2017.

  • Projects must be completed between Jan. 1, 2017 and Aug. 14, 2018
  • Projects that previously won a gold award are ineligible to enter again in the category they won.
    • Exception: 55+ Builder or Associate of the Year may enter after a waiting period of two entry cycles from the winning year.
  • Do not include identifying information in the application materials. Awards are judged anonymously. 
    • Exception: 55+ Builder, Associate, One to Watch and Marketing and Lifestyle categories.

Entry Fees

  • 55+ Housing Industry Council Members       $300 per entry
  • NAHB Members                                            $325 per entry
  • Non-Members                                               $350 per entry
Additional Discounts

Are you a member of NAHB? Join the 55+ Housing Industry Council now for $100 to take advantage of additional discounted entry fees. Discounted fees will be available immediately after you become a 55+ Housing Industry Council member. Savings from two or more entries is a great return on your investment.


To apply for NAHB Best of 55+ Housing Awards, please complete the following steps:


1. Review categories and eligibility.
2. Review the sample applications and photo release
3. Complete an application
4. Submit payment

 Apply Now button