55+ Lifestyle Awards

Lifestyle is such a key component of the 55+ housing experience. These awards recognize both soft-programming and built environments. Judges will consider how these elements come together to enhance resident satisfaction and quality of life.   

The Lifestyle Awards categories are for any 55+ existing or new age-designed or age-qualified community catering to the 55+ lifestyle in use as of Jan. 1, 2013.

Submissions in these categories include programs, activities, promotions and events that occur at the community for the primary benefit of current residents. They can address any of the following lifestyle pillars: social, entertainment, spiritual, physical, occupational, cultural, educational, intellectual and/or environmental.

2017 Lifestyle Categories:

  • Category 47 — Best 55+ Lifestyle Event
  • Category 48 — Best 55+ Fitness & Wellness Program
  • Category 49 — Best 55+ Dining or Café Experience
  • Category 50 — Best 55+ Lifestyle Program
  • Category 51 — Best 55+ Outdoor Lifestyle Amenity

Entries for 55+ Lifestyle Awards will judged on creativity, execution and outcome based on the following criteria:

  • Creativity/Appeal: Overall appeal of the programming and the environment in which it occurs
  • Target Market: Appropriateness for the resident group and/or 55+ consumers
  • Benefits: Evidence of positive impact on resident satisfaction and quality of life
  • Success: The work has met objectives and delivered a favorable return on investment

Gold and Innovation Awards were announced during the 2017 NAHB International Builders' Show in Orlando. Additional information about the Best of 55+ Housing Awards can be found at nahb.org/55plusawards.